Home > food > Saturday foodblogging

Saturday foodblogging

May 27, 2006

I intended take pictures through the entire process, but I forgot. But today I’ve been making brioche, just because I’ve wanted to make an egg bread for a while. Right now, the dough is cold-rising in the fridge (apparently a necessity for brioche, because it’s so tough to handle that it needs to be chilled) and I’ll probably bake it in the morning. I’ll report back after we’ve had a taste.

For now, I’m a little nervous, because I may not have kneaded it long enough (in the KitchenAid stand mixer). While brioche dough is supposed be sticky, it apparently should also clean the bowl when it’s done kneading (my recipe didn’t say this, but others do). My dough never actually cleaned the sides of the bowl, though it did pull away easily when scraped it out. It doesn’t seem to have suffered–the texture of the dough after the first rise was fine (and BOY! did it inflate in a scant two hours!) but I worry about what that will do for the crumb when I actually bake it. The next time I deflate it (normally, requiring a “punching down” but with brioche requiring more of a “lifting of the edges”), I may do a quick knead-by-hand in the bowl. Just to be on the safe side. I’m also worried because I used bread flour (I want a sturdier bread for French toast) and most of the recipes out there call for all-purpose. Bread flour, having a higher protein content, is really good for chewy breads, but brioche is not generally considered “chewy” or “sturdy.” So I worry that I’ll end up with a rich, chewy bread that is worthless UNLESS I make French toast with it.

So I’ll post pictures of the final product, tomorrow morning, if I remember. If it turns out well, I’ll post the recipe.

Categories: food
