Home > just me > self-revelation before Memorial Day

self-revelation before Memorial Day

May 26, 2006

The Holiday weekend has begun!

Yesterday, I never left the apartment. I got up later than I intended to and, because I was waiting on something time-sensitive via email, I ended up never leaving. It made me very, VERY antsy come evening.

So today, I determined that I would LEAVE THE HOUSE. I went to the grocery store, first, and bought food for the weekend, including the first magnum of pinot noir I’ve ever seen. Pinot noir, by the way, is sort of a fragile grape, so I have NO idea how a…cough, cough…less than $15, 1.5 liter bottle of it will taste. But at least it’s not merlot. Then I went and got a quickie manicure–no polish, file and buff only, plus hand massage–and then I went to the bookstore. And I bought the June edition of the Atlantic Monthly (and argh, there’s an article in it that drove me batty) and two books.

In other words, I got out. It was NICE. I would have gone to the pool, but it doesn’t open until tomorrow. Given that I only have two more months to enjoy having a pool at my apartment, I should use it.

I know my summer sounds like it’s turning out to be totally cushy–manicure? bookstore? on a Friday?–but I’m not really made for this sort of thing. I need stuff to do. I knew that this week would be a little lower key for my summer jobs, but I had no idea how hard it would be for me. I can’t just be at home and watch TV or read blogs or sit around. And when I’m out wandering around–given that I’m not working very many hours yet–I just worry about how much money I’m going to spend doing the things I like to do. Like, going to museums and art galleries. And shopping. And eating. And drinking.

Sigh. I guess it’s good to know that I am TOTALLY not cut out to be a housewife, at least one who doesn’t have any kids at home. But it doesn’t make it any easier when I don’t have the money to enjoy getting out of the house.

Categories: just me
