Home > off the beaten path > thing that bug me

thing that bug me

May 22, 2006

Is anyone else seriously annoyed that Rachel Ray pronounces liqueur “li-CYURE”? And not even in the nice, French-sounding way. I strongly believe that, unless you are French or speak French, you should not try to pronounce the syllables that do not exist in your version of American English. It’s like that movie French Kiss, when Meg Ryan spends twenty minutes trying to learn to pronounce the name “Luc.” If you can’t get it right, just Americanize it.

Categories: off the beaten path
  1. May 23, 2006 at 10:19 am

    Actually, the Rachel Ray-ism I *HATE* is “sammy”. It’s a damned sandwich. Sandwich isn’t hard to say, we don’t need a “cutesy” way of saying it… God, I hate that.

  2. May 26, 2006 at 11:15 am

    Yeah, I don’t really like “EVOO” either; it’s obnoxious. Frankly, she’s generally obnoxious, way too cutesy, and her voice just gets under my skin. Still, sometimes there’s nothing else on TV. And her cocktails are usually good–she makes a frozen mojito that I have replicated many times with GREAT success.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
