Home > moving > faith in humanity: dwindling

faith in humanity: dwindling

May 20, 2006

People, my friends, can be totally shitty. Also, I’m a freaking LAW STUDENT. You should WANT to rent to me, jackass.

Back to square one.

Update: So yeah, the nice, dreamy apartment is gone. Called this morning to ask a question and find out when I could come fill out an application and was told he already had an application in that he didn’t think was going to fall through. I love it when a landlord tells you the night before that he doesn’t have any applications ready, but “if you want to call tomorrow, I can meet up to do the paperwork” all the while knowing he’s got another someone looking at the apartment. I told him that I would have moved faster had I known there were other people interested and his response was, “I never have trouble renting the place.” Excuse me, what?

So I was pissed earlier–not so much because of the apartment itself because were sort of still on the fence about it, but because we were treated badly–we were played, if you will. It’s maddening and it makes me angry.

So we’re eating carbs and drinking wine and margaritas and, tomorrow, we start over. Sigh. I hate apartment hunting.

Categories: moving
  1. May 21, 2006 at 7:38 pm

    It pains me to say it, but your experience is not at all atypical in this town. Landlords here are a special variety of scum. But, there are some great apartments, so hang in there and good luck. Email me if you want some other suggestions — or just want to vent. šŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
