Home > off the beaten path > TV blogging

TV blogging

May 15, 2006

I just want to note, for the record, that the season finale of Grey’s Anatomy has started off with some of the most clichéd lines EVER. I mean, it’s not bad, in the way that other guilty pleasures aren’t bad. But hackneyed? Yes.

OK, some spoilers below the jump. Close your eyes now if you haven’t watched it and you’re reading on the full feed.

First, the chief’s cancer-ridden neice? Cliche. Her friends? Worse. The PROM in the HOSPITAL?? TOTAL SHARK JUMPING. But: Bailey’s saving the prom theme moment was classic.

Second, Izzy has lost her mind. I know the writers make her seem sane by the end, but she really has lost her mind. Something else HAS to be going on with Izzy for her to lose it like that.

Third, all of these people in relationships are really just very bad people. I know, I know–it’s HARD being part of a couple when bad things happen ALL THE DAMN TIME. But don’t turn around and walk away when your partner is hurting. Don’t “forget” to call your partner because you’re freaked out. DON’T HAVE SEX WITH SOMEONE BECAUSE YOU FEEL BAD. Jeez. Grow up! (Note, though: Callie, who was annoying the shit out of me with the “you need to stand up for me with the girls because I washed my hands” stuff, totally redeemed herself by tying Meredith’s dress at the end.)

Fourth, I am not going to complain about what they did to Denny. Why? Because he made Izzy into a completely worthless character–she lost herself in HIM. Yeah, yeah, he was a great guy, loved her, all virile and such, but the Denny storyline really destroyed what, for me, was interesting about this show–the relationship between the interns. Sure, other people are around, and they have relationships with those people, too. But the writers did a good job of keeping the story centered around the interns. Denny sort of destroyed that because Izzy wouldn’t let anyone in, so it was totally about HER. Blargh. Sad, yes. VERY VERY SAD. But I am not upset that the writers did what they did.

And that’s that. Not so much a recap as a rant, but that’s what you get. Now go watch it on TiVo!

Categories: off the beaten path
  1. PBB
    May 15, 2006 at 9:11 pm

    We’re taping it and watching it FFing through the commercials later tonight! I don’t know how I got addicted to to this show. Don’t post any big spoilers for a couple hours!

  2. Anonymous
    May 15, 2006 at 10:14 pm

    Can you post what happens on it? I’m studying for my ConLaw final tomorrow, (my least favorite class…ever…. I didn’t read for it like half of the semester and as a result learned it all during the last couple of days…or learned part of it… I’m sooo screwed)

    anyway, i’m dying to know what happened, please post spoilers if you have a chance!!!

  3. PBB
    May 16, 2006 at 12:33 am

    I agree with everything you said. Christina pissed me off so much. Get over your damn issues and show some love.

    I hate when I’m supposed to want married people to screw other people. I can never allow myself to be manipulated into cheering for it. Derek could have admitted to Addison that they had a dead marriage a long time ago, but no. Bleh. Poor cutie Chris O’Donnell.

  4. May 16, 2006 at 9:46 am

    i definitely agree with you…im sooooo pissed off at how the show turned out over the past several episodes.

    Although the ending wasnt bad at all

  5. May 16, 2006 at 11:01 am

    I am soooo glad you wrote this. I couldn’t agree with you more, but I thought I was the only one who was annoyed with the show.

    The whole Izzy/Denny storyline drove me nutz. Gimme a break. And McDreamy leading on the women in his life? They’ve dragged out that storyline too long too. I know the writers need to get as much mileage out of it as possible, but it would have been more interesting for Meredith to get involved with the vet (Chris O’Donnell) for a while, even if they look like brother/sister.

    But, I have to admit that I do like George and Calli. She has character, and I love that she’s not stick-skinny or model-curvy! Yay for real women!

  6. May 17, 2006 at 12:35 am

    I’ve only seen one episode of the show, and it was with the old violinist who was operated on and died, and the Boy was like, “Dude, he is so NOT REALLY playing the violin” (he’s a violinist himself) so that I decided that I can’t watch that show. Sorry!

  7. May 18, 2006 at 11:59 am

    Yep, this show is annoying, and I cannot figure out why I watch it. I’m so glad that NBC’s putting Studio 60 up against it in the fall so I might have a chance to let go of this crazy show.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
