Home > just me > Urgh

Urgh

April 28, 2006

Hangovers are no fun. But that’s what I get for letting what should have been a short alumni cocktail reception turn into more drinks and snacks at a nearby bar until well after midnight. Still, it was fun catching up with people I hadn’t seen in years, and realizing how many non-law school people I know in this city. My only real regret is that I only had three business cards with me, and I ran out of them far too early in the evening. Networking can, indeed, be fun. The strangest part of the evening was realizing one of my college classmates (we were two of nine majors in our department when we graduated) lives about a block and a half from me. Another friend lives half a block beyond that. How have I not run into either of them in the grocery store?

Categories: just me
  1. MelG-F
    April 28, 2006 at 4:36 pm

    What do you have on your business cards?? I was just wondering, as a fellow soon-to-be 2L (if I stop reading blogs and start polishing outlines, ha ha.)

  2. April 28, 2006 at 5:08 pm

    They’re pretty stock — they have my name, with “Candidate for Juris Doctor Degree, Class of 2008,” my email, and my phone. We ordered them through the school, and the price was low, otherwise I might not have gotten them. (Oh, and because of that, they have the school logo and information, too. All I had to do was tell the printers how to spell my name and what my email and phone were.)

    Honestly, they’re not really useful for interviewing, because prospective employers will have all of your info. But for things like last night, cocktail parties and random meetings with people who can “increase your network,” they’re great.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
