Home > 1L > It's social. Demented and sad, but social.

It's social. Demented and sad, but social.

April 19, 2006

I spent much of the day studying with a friend. We did a combination of silent-study-in-the-same-room and hey-I-have-a-question-let’s-hash-it-out-study. And that worked well. But she had a meeting, so I found myself at a loose end.

I could have gone home. Mr. Angst is in class and it would be quiet there. But we get the afternoon sun, and the AC in our building is STILL not on, so I would be uncomfortable. Plus, I think this is the time of year when it’s really important NOT to crawl into a study hole and not come out. I figured I needed to be around people.

So instead of hunkering down at home, I’m in the library. There are people around. I can look at them, they can look at me. We can wave weakly at one another as we slowly die inside. I won’t talk to any of them–we have work to do, after all. But at least I’m not alone.

Categories: 1L
