Home > 1L > today i'm in a good mood, so this is a relatively happy post

today i'm in a good mood, so this is a relatively happy post

April 14, 2006

I’ve had my last Property class. Ever. Unlike my disbelief last semester that I had learned enough Civ Pro to be allowed to not take it anymore (though, of course, I am taking more of it), I can totally accept that the Property I’ve learned this semester is enough to last me the rest of my legal career. No, really! And, actually, this afternoon, I will finish Civ Pro. This time, I fully believe that I’ve absorbed enough of it to move on and take other classes.

Maybe that’s just an experience thing–I know more this semester, and I know how to absorb information more efficiently. Maybe it’s just that I’m tired, and need a break. Whatever the case, my first year of law school is all but over. And that seems right. This semester has just flown by, but in looking back, I definitely feel like I’ve been here a year. (An academic year, that is.)

Exams are coming up. I’m a little nervous that I haven’t done more work on my outlines, that I haven’t really synthesized stuff yet. But today, as Prof. Property talked to us about the exam, and about his expectations, and about what approach we should take, I felt a little bit of calm. I know how to take exams. That process, at least, is not so scary anymore. Sure, I need to figure out what to put in my exams–learn the law and all–but I’m not freaked out about the actual mechanism.

Two semesters in, I’m still sure that I picked the right path. Law school is for me. I hope the next four semesters slow down a little, though. I want to enjoy it while it lasts.

Categories: 1L
  1. April 14, 2006 at 12:54 pm

    Biggest congrats on finishing up classes for the year!

    Not to be the bearer of ugly news, but Property is on the multi-state bar exam (so that means another wrestling match with it when you prepare for the bar). Civ Pro, however, isn’t…

    Good luck with exams!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
