Home > just me > oh, ow

oh, ow

March 29, 2006

I went to my first Yoga class in almost a year today. It was a good class. It’s small, and full of beginners. About halfway through, after instructing us to relax out of Down Dog into Child’s Pose, the teacher asked me if I’d practiced yoga before, since I automatically moved into Child’s Pose without waiting for her description of it.

No matter that I know the easy, relaxing poses, though. The class was still terrific for me. I can practice at home all I want, but I won’t get the constant reminders to adjust my alignment, keep breathing deeply, focus my gaze. After class, the teacher gave me some DVD and book recommendations for doing a home practice to supplement the class. That was also good.

So all of that stuff is good. Yay! Good! But my neck and shoulders and hamstrings are already ow. Mostly my neck and shoulders. (I’ll feel it in my legs more tomorrow.) Basically, I’m just ow. Ow is a good thing, I guess–it means I’m moving and working my muscles. But it’s still ow.

Categories: just me
  1. TP
    March 29, 2006 at 7:33 pm

    I adore yoga. It’s so awesome. It really helps with a lot of my self defense stuff, too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
