Home > 1L, just me > the things you discover about yourself after the sun goes down

the things you discover about yourself after the sun goes down

March 9, 2006

I don’t do well with actual writing at night. I’m much better at editing at night, and writing in the morning. Odd, huh?

Tonight, after a yummy meal (fixin’s picked up at the grocery on a long, wet, rainy, windy, COLD walk home) and a good movie, I figured I should get some work done. But writing didn’t appeal. I need a quiet library and either a big table or an isolated carrel in which to actually write. (That’s so I can create two dozen stacks of Westlaw printouts and then freak out when I can’t find the ground-breaking Supreme Court case I reeeeealllllly need for a given argument.)

So I revised. Two sections of my brief have already been written, turned in, and returned with comments. So I went through and fixed them! Yay! Then I put them into my master document, fixed the headings, and checked my page length. It’s really long right now. Sigh. That’s probably not a good thing.

But I digress. My point is that, at night, and particularly at home, I just can’t do any writing. I can only edit. So tomorrow, during my break, I’ll have to hunker down in the library and make my little piles of printouts, and write. Probably Saturday and Sunday, too.

Categories: 1L, just me
