Home > just me > it's been a spilly kind of day

it's been a spilly kind of day

March 7, 2006

I left my computer chained to my carrel and went downstairs to get some tea. Did I mention that I gave up coffee for lent? (NOT caffeine, just coffee, because I actually really like coffee.) So I went to get some tea. Yum! Tea! And I grabbed a tea bag and pulled out exact change and grabbed my cup (all while the girl behind the counter had a conversation with someone else) and filled my cup with hot water from the hot water carafe, and put a java jacket on my cup and . . .

. . . promptly tumped my cup over all over the carafe counter. Gah! Meanwhile, the folks behind the counter were still having their conversation, so I mopped up the mess with the help of the not-so-absorbent napkins-from-the-dispenser, and a kindly stranger (I think he was a professor).

So, OK. Fine. The rest of the day was without incident. I wrote and wrote and wrote while chained to my carrel. And I came home. But first, I stopped at the store to get fixin’s for dinner, including a lovely bottle of Italian white table wine. And I popped the wine in the fridge–in the shelf on the door, where a bottle of wine fits so nicely, and set about preparing dinner. And then I went to get the lemons out so I could zest and juice them and when I pulled the fridge door open, the wine bottle flipped over the shelf bar and . . .

. . . shattered all over my kitchen floor. Gah! Again! So I picked up the big pieces of glass and then swept up the little pieces, and then sopped up the wine from the floor with paper towels, because we don’t have a mop. And when it dried, I sprayed 409 on the floor and wiped it up with my foot and more paper towels.

Dinner still came off OK. But I’ve never felt so clumsy. Well, maybe that’s not true. But it’s close.

Categories: just me
  1. stag
    March 7, 2006 at 8:42 pm

    Maybe the girl behind the counter used to work at Dairy Queen.

  2. March 7, 2006 at 9:36 pm

    To be fair, she is a very nice lady. But today, she was preoccupied. And it was unfortunate that today was the day I needed her help. Piffle.

  3. March 7, 2006 at 10:22 pm

    The other night my friend was making me dinner and I was watching and drinking a beer and I set my computer down on my coffee table, which flipped the beer over onto the floor where it all foamed out and got all over everything AND under the table…and when I got up to get a towel, I tripped over my computer bag and fell down. It was so awesome.

  4. March 7, 2006 at 10:32 pm

    Yes! See, that’s exactly what today was like. Sigh.

  5. Anonymous
    March 8, 2006 at 9:18 pm

    I hear that someone at your school died :o(

  6. Kevin
    March 9, 2006 at 8:45 am

    At least you weren’t at the grocery store running over little old ladies with your shopping cart!

  7. March 9, 2006 at 1:48 pm

    Thanks, Kevin. Nothing like a brother to remind everyone that you actually ARE a klutz.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
