Home > 1L, just me > TGIF

TGIF

February 24, 2006

Finally, it’s Friday. All of my obligations for the week are over. Mostly. I did all but a small slice of my reading for the week, I wrote up my part of a group assignment due next week, and I collected several more articles and cases for my next legal writing assignment. I even went to to the gym and ran this week.

And I’m not exhausted. Instead, I feel antsy, edgy, twitchy. Even if I shouldn’t be tired (which is questionable), I should at least feel more relaxed–I made it through the week and managed not to either completely collapse or totally throw in the towel. But no. My brain is running a mile a minute. There are a dozen things I think I need to be doing, but I can’t really do any of them.

Looking over the last five days, I suddenly realize this has been one of the longest weeks of the year for me! I didn’t mention it earlier (I don’t think), but I had an interview late last week for a fall externship with a judge–and I got the position. That’s really exciting! But right now I feel like I’ve been living with that knowledge for a month, not a week. Law school really is a marathon, and I’m coming really close to hitting a wall in this stretch of it.

Categories: 1L, just me
  1. February 24, 2006 at 5:38 pm

    Congratulations on the job! Sorry about the long week.

  2. February 24, 2006 at 7:23 pm

    Congratulations, Kristine! That’s great news.

    I’m feeling you on the hitting the wall thing. I wonder if it’s just the time for this? I don’t think we’re the only ones feeling this way.

  3. February 24, 2006 at 11:32 pm

    Congrats!!

  4. February 25, 2006 at 12:12 am

    Congrats, congrats, congrats on the externship!

    And if it helps you, when I was in my first year of law school, I thought that February was the worst month, that it would never end — or that I’d never survive it. When I mentioned the stress I was feeling to a second year, she told me that everyone feels the same way and just about keels over in February. You are not alone; 1L February is almost a rite of passage. Hang in there.

  5. stag
    February 25, 2006 at 10:48 am

    That’s awesome about the externship! Congratulations!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
