Home > likes and dislikes, reviews > a glimmer of goodness in a sea of drudgery

a glimmer of goodness in a sea of drudgery

February 22, 2006

Since I don’t drive anymore, I don’t get the chance to listen to NPR news, Morning Edition, All Things Considered, or The World anymore. When we moved to Our New City, I looked up the public radio station number, just in case, but since I commute by public transportation, it doesn’t do me much good at the time of day when listening to the news is most convenient.

I had also looked for NPR podcasts, but found none. Perhaps I was too early–after all, the last time I looked, the only NPR program available was On the Media. A great show, but not exactly the news.

Well, guess what? Since that discouraging search, several months ago, NPR has gotten on the ball. NPR now publishes several podcasts, all of them available in iTunes. First, I can get news updates through the day. And while I can’t get the entire program of All Things Considered or Morning Edition, I can subscribe to the individual stories–NPR Technology, or NPR Music. Which means I get hours of NPR programming, ready to download to my iPod and listen to on the train, or in the library, or while I’m walking around the city.

Thank you, NPR, for publishing your podcasts online. Those of us who don’t drive have been waiting for this. And now that I can hear public radio again, I am more likely to subscribe to public radio.

  1. February 22, 2006 at 11:35 am

    They (the local NPR) also has a good webcast, I usually listen to it in my office… but the Podcasts are great for commuting.

  2. Harsha
    July 15, 2006 at 11:44 am

    Hey,
    Hope things are going good in Chicago. Just wanted to say hi and add another station to your list…I am really addicted to it šŸ™‚

    Air America Talk Radio. Try it, you might like it šŸ˜‰

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
