Home > 1L, just me > 2 4 things

2 4 things

February 13, 2006
  1. I think I may be off the hook in Con Law for the rest of the semester. Not only did I volunteer an answer, I was also cold-called. I did well, I think, on both, so I think I can sit silently in the future without feeling guilty. At least until we get into more interesting material. Or are we covering more interesting material now? I haven’t decided.
  2. Also, I need a second opinion. I received a baby shower invitation today. The shower is for a relative. It is in about three weeks. It is about 1100 miles away. Clearly, there is no expectation that I will actually attend. So is the invitation a thoughtful gesture, or is it a tacky plea for a gift?
  3. I found the cutest pair of boots today. If they were black, I’d’ve bought them immediately, budget be damned! But they are brown, and I am not sure I need sassy brown boots, even at 50% off. Plus, Mr. Angst and I have a night out planned on Wednesday–we’re going dancing, which we haven’t done in probably close to a year. Part of me feels like, if we weren’t planning for that (which won’t be that pricey, but will involve buying drinks, maybe a little food, and maybe a cab ride), I could feel a little freer about spending the money.
  4. Have any of you students ever emailed a professor, one who is not exactly known for being horrible about Socratic method, to tell him/her you weren’t going to be prepared?
Categories: 1L, just me
  1. February 13, 2006 at 7:07 pm

    1. We’re definitely not to the interesting things yet.

    2. Thoughtful gesture.

    3. Black boots are way better.

    4. Nope. I just always take my chances.

  2. Shark Tank
    February 13, 2006 at 10:18 pm

    I emailed a prof who never even calls on me because I usually volunteer an answer once per class, but only because she told us at least 37 times to do so. My email went like this “Due to my legal writing assignment, I was unable to finish the reading for today. I apologize for being unprepared for this afternoon.” Her response was “OK.” And that was that!

  3. emily sitton
    February 13, 2006 at 10:24 pm

    i’ve found that professors appreciate being put on notice when i’m not prepared. this saves them the wasted time of calling on me in class and also i think it’s a sign of respect. also, i think the invitation was probably a thoughtful gesture. also, you can never go wrong with sassy boots, be they black, brown, or magenta.

  4. February 13, 2006 at 10:28 pm

    Dude, Em, if they’d been magenta, I might have gotten them, just because I totally need a pair of magenta boots.

  5. February 14, 2006 at 2:17 am

    I’ve certainly had profs who were cruel and sadistic enough to actually go out of their way to call on someone they knew wasn’t prepared. So I’ve never chanced a pre-emptive email. Better to take my chances.

    Ah, horrible law school memories…

  6. TP
    February 14, 2006 at 1:47 pm

    They discuss the invitation thing on Seinfeld; Jerry calls it a “nonvite,” and Elaine terms it an “unvitation.”

  7. Kristine (the other one)
    February 14, 2006 at 1:59 pm

    2. Depends on your relationship with the relatives. If it’s a close one, then the invitation might be a way to have you feel included even though they know you can’t make it — they want to show they wish you were there. If it’s outta the blue, then, well, perhaps another explanation is accurate…

    3. Boots… hot and on sale. Who cares if you don’t need them? Need is not the issue! If they add to your school debt, then maybe you should take a pass. Otherwise, splurge and give yourself a smile!

    4. Yes. On several occasions but only when they requested we do so or the class was a small seminar. It’s an issue of respect, I think. Most of them put a great deal of time into preparing the lesson, so emailing them in advance acknowledges their effort and shows that you’re serious about this stuff. If it’s a large class and the chances of being called on is minimal, then maybe blow it off…

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
