Home > 1L, 1L: job search > will wonders never cease?

will wonders never cease?

February 8, 2006

Well, look at that.

Somehow I made it out of the hole, yet I still find myself completely overwhelmed and without any time to post substantively. Maybe that’s because I’ve been neglecting my reading for my other classes; maybe it’s because I had a make-up class today, and so had to do extra reading. Maybe it’s because I had an interview this morning to prepare for–and to, apparently, dream about.

Yeah, let me tell you about that dream.

Sometime in the early morning hours, I started to have a waking dream. You know, one of those that seems so real, when you wake up, you don’t quite know what’s happened, because you thought you were already awake? Yeah, one of those. And what I dreamed was that I had overslept. Really, not the end of the world, since I had class before my interview, and skipping that class would not have been the end of the world.

Except that in my dream, I WAY overslept. And I had something like 40 minutes to shower, do my hair, dress, and get to school for my interview. And things kept going wrong. Like, my shower took twice as long as it normally does. And my suit jacket somehow didn’t fit. Also, the tags were still on my suit jacket, and for some reason, I couldn’t get them off. Maybe I don’t own any scissors in my dream world. Nothing was going right, and I was beginning to panic, and that made everything worse. Maybe this isn’t such a weird dream after all.

At any rate, the alarm went off right as I (in my dream) was running, full speed, for the train. I woke to find that I was still in bed, it was before 7 am, and I had all the time in the world. So I snoozed.

In other words, I’m out of the hole, but apparently no one told my subconscious.

Oh — one final thing. If I’m sending a writing sample to a potential employer, should I do anything special to it? Like, put a cover sheet on it? It’s a full memo, so I figured I didn’t need to preface it with a lot of information about the legal issues. Right now, I just have my name and phone number at the top of each page and no cover sheet. Is that sufficient?

Categories: 1L, 1L: job search
  1. Katie
    February 8, 2006 at 7:11 pm

    A mentor told me to always submit a cover letter for a writing sample so the employer knows precisely what the sample is. Here is how the City of Chicago Department of Law recommends to do it … it is a good guideline. Just type this info on a page and staple it onto the top of your sample – you don’t need to elaborate:

    “Each writing sample should be accompanied by a cover page explaining (a) the sample’s original purpose (e.g., a legal writing class assignments; a moot court brief; an internal memorandum for an employer; a court pleading); (b) when and for whom the sample was written; (c) the extent of editing by any third party; and (d) if the writing sample is an excerpt from a larger document, the nature of that larger document, including issues addressed. If an applicant chooses to submit a writing sample containing confidential or privileged information, the applicant must identify the steps taken (e.g., redactions; changed names; consent obtained from a client or an employer) to preserve the confidential or privileged nature of the document.”

  2. February 8, 2006 at 8:59 pm

    I was also told that if your writing sample is based on facts provided to you and a perspective/position assigned to you (as with a memo prepared for class), then you should provide that context for the reader.

    Also, if it’s more than 7 pages, you might want to consider exerpting it (depending, of course, on what they requested).

    Good luck!

  3. February 8, 2006 at 9:16 pm

    Thanks for the advice. I’ve sent it off — didn’t want to wait too long — but I added a cover sheet indicating it was written for legal writing, and that the assignment only required analysis of certain issues, and that no one else but me substantially edited it.

    It is, though, a good 10 pages, but one of my professors told me she thought that wasn’t excessive. Also, it would be really tough to exerpt, so I just left it. We’ll see what happens!

  1. February 10, 2006 at 8:21 am
Comments are closed.
