Home > just me > more on the waste

more on the waste

January 23, 2006

I should also mention that I spent close to $200 on shoes last week preparing for an interview that was fruitless and an interview I won’t have. (My navy shoes did not arrive in time for my Friday interview, so I ran out and bought a pair of black pumps figuring that I needed a pair anyway.)

So now I have two hot pair of career-appropriate heels and no foreseeable opportunity to wear them.

/end whine

Categories: just me
  1. January 23, 2006 at 5:45 pm

    I’m sure you’ll find a job somewhere for the summer. What they don’t tell 1L’s and we all have to find out the hard way is that most people don’t get a job at a firm. In fact, most 1L’s are lucky to get a paying job at all (as opposed to workstudy for some government office). That said, it’s possible to get a paying legal job for the summer, even as a 1L, so you might need those great shoes after all!

  2. January 23, 2006 at 7:55 pm

    It’s never a waste to buy a “hot pair” of shoes. Everything will be fine.

  3. January 23, 2006 at 10:48 pm

    Ditto Denise.. And unlike all those interview suits I bought two years ago, the shoes that go with them still fit!

    Shoes… a good thing. Also, interview practice… a good thing.

  4. January 23, 2006 at 10:48 pm

    K-
    Hang on to the shoes…it’s only January 23rd, and if memory serves (it’s been 8 years), I scored my 1L summer job right about April 23rd…at a firm that I’m still with, believe it or not.
    Keep sending out resumes, and follow up with phone calls…it’ll pan out.
    -G

  5. January 23, 2006 at 10:49 pm

    K-
    Hang on to the shoes…it’s only January 23rd, and if memory serves (it’s been 8 years), I scored my 1L summer job right about April 23rd…at a firm that I’m still with, believe it or not.
    Keep sending out resumes, and follow up with phone calls…it’ll pan out.
    -G

  6. January 23, 2006 at 11:35 pm

    Thanks, y’all! I am definitely keeping the shoes — they are WAY too hot to send back. (And by hot I mean really high, making my short little legs look really long.)

    And I am going to stop whining about the whole job thing. I have a pile of resumes and cover letters to send out (well, an inbox full, since I’m sending via email), and some government and public sector stuff to look into yet. Hope is not lost! I will find a job! And it will be the right job!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
