Home > of note > people watching

people watching

January 22, 2006

Today I saw a woman wearing the largest, most absurd hat I’ve ever seen. She was tall and queenly, covered in a full-length fur coat and carrying a Lord & Taylor bag. The hat was big, wide-brimmed and over-feathered. She was walking with two men, who I assume were her husband and her grown son. The son was developmentally disabled, and walked between his parents, holding hands with both.

I caught myself staring at her hat. And then I wondered if she chose her hat deliberately for its large absurdity, so that passersby would stare at her instead of at her son.

Categories: of note
  1. January 22, 2006 at 10:26 pm

    I wish you had taken a picture…

  2. January 23, 2006 at 1:37 am

    That’s a brilliant tactic!

    Did she have a dead furry animal on her head? That would have been even better!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
