Home > just me > I need fashion input!

I need fashion input!

January 17, 2006

So it turns out I did get an interview for OCI. (Long story.) I am completely excited but I am also a little nervous, because I don’t have shoes to match my fabulous interview suit.

I know, I know. What a thing to be stressed about.

I need some advice, therefore. The suit is navy pinstripe. The jacket is long (not one of those hip-length, snug fit ones) and the skirt is a knee-length pencil skirt. I am short, therefore my inclination is to get a higher heel so that my legs balance nicely with the skirt and jacket.

The problem, of course, is COLOR. There are navy shoes out there, but they are either not in my size or have tassels or are slingbacks.

Three questions, then:

  • Are slingbacks OK to wear to an interview in February?
  • If they are not, are black shoes OK to wear with a navy suit?
  • How sexy is too sexy for the shoes? Like, are pointy toe stilettos too sexy for my conservative navy suit?

I should add that I am on the verge of buying these, since Marshall Field did not have these in my size, and the website doesn’t have any more in navy. But the first pair are slingbacks and I am concerned that that makes them inappropriate.

Man. I need help with the corporate fashioning.

Update:

985-234129-t.jpgOK, Zappos is just weird. Two hours ago, the only color they had of my beloved shoe was black patent leather. Yet, two minutes ago, they suddenly had it in navy leather–and in my size! I threw it in my shopping cart, and Zappos told me they had only one in my size. Well, you know what? As of now, they have NONE left in my size. Because I BOUGHT the last one.

So there, shoe gods. Phbbt on you!

Categories: just me
  1. January 17, 2006 at 6:08 pm

    I wear slingbacks year around, though it can get iffy in the snow. Though it’s more iffy cause you’re gonna fall on your ass then snow getting stuffed under your foot. I rather like the ones you have posted. Of course I also do not have a job currently, so take what I said with a grain of salt. šŸ™‚

  2. January 17, 2006 at 6:19 pm

    It’s clearly documented that I’m a fashion idiot, but I always wore navy pumps with navy suits, even if the navys did not match exactly (because it’s IMPOSSIBLE). However, on the last move, my best navy pumps got lost and so I’m now considering wearing black with navy, especially if it’s a dark navy. So…I say go ahead and wear black with navy. A good black shoe can’t be worse than a not-the-same-navy slingback, right?

  3. January 17, 2006 at 10:48 pm

    I don’t know… one of my big hang-ups is matching shoes. It could be because this is an excuse to buy more shoes, but… nah. Couldn’t be.

    I’m glad Zappos came through for you, because I wasn’t wild about any of your options.

    And congrats on the OCI interview!

  4. January 18, 2006 at 7:57 am

    Citations, I too am glad Zappos came through (and it shipped this morning, so I know they’re really on their way!). I like my shoes to match also and slingbacks just seemed…wrong somehow.

  5. ptlawstudent
    January 19, 2006 at 9:34 am

    I’ll start off by saying I’m in NYC with different standards of dress, but that aside I’d say that slingbacks in winter are OK as are pointy toe stilletos.

    Most suit pants are billowy at the end so they hide most of the sexy shoe anyway. I’ve seen partners here with the point sticking out from under their cuff and just a bit of the little heel showing and it looks fab.

    You can wear black shoes with navy. Not a fashion faux pas at all, unless the navy is so light as to be edging into a denim blue or indigo. Then you’d better try to get shoes that match a bit better.

    But I’m not sure if the Chicago market is more conservative than here in NYC. When I worked in DC it was much more conservative in dress and more stuffy in general.

    Glad to know you found something from Zappos. Good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
