Home > 1L: job search > won't someone just tell me what to do?

won't someone just tell me what to do?

January 14, 2006

I’m feeling better about my resume now. Mr. Angst helped me retool it some, so that my experience resonates more from a corporate perspective–even though I have never really worked in a corporate environment. I’m suddenly using words like “revenue” and “initiative.” Me! Revenue? Initiative? I guess I tend not to think of my employment in those terms, even if those terms apply. I’m still too touchy-feely, I guess.

I also finished revising my writing sample. So now all that’s left is . . . cover letters. Argh! I think I’ll draft some of those this afternoon. Maybe by tomorrow I can have some things to put in the mail!

I don’t like that the 1L job search seems crafted to make you doubt your self-worth. In all the job searches I’ve done in my time, I have never felt, at the resume-and-cover-letter-stage, that I was in the position of a beggar. But now I do–I’ll take any crumb at all as a sign that I am worthy to be paid this summer, that I am valuable enough to be hireable. And that’s ridiculous!

I also wonder if ANY law school career services office has the time and resources to do anything useful for people like me, who are career-changers and need, perhaps, a little more coaching in the legal job search. Mr. Angst, not a lawyer, was able to give me better advice in five minutes of looking at my resume than my career services advisor could. And that’s absurd! Who is the expert being paid to help me write a resume? NOT Mr. Angst.

So the job search process is frustrating. I think the best thing for me at this point would be to send out some stuff and see what results. And keep revising and redirecting my approach.

Categories: 1L: job search
  1. emily
    January 14, 2006 at 3:54 pm

    ugh the 1L summer job search is a big pain. p-a-i-n. i’m sorry career services hasn’t been able to help you much. mine wasn’t, either. they seemed much more focused on the 2Ls and 3Ls. my advice: use whatever connections you have. anybody who knows a lawyer, see if they have any positions open, or know of anyone who might. i got my summer job because my sister’s neighbor is an atty. otherwise, i would’ve just had to take summer school classes.

    then again, summer school classes isn’t such a bad idea. i was sure wishing i had taken some summer classes last semester when i was struggling with 16 hours. also, according to my friends who took classes over the summer, it’s a great environment because the classses are smaller. they all got significantly better grades than they had during the long semesters.

    anyway, hope that helps. good luck!

  2. January 15, 2006 at 1:15 am

    Okay, I’ll bite – as a not-even-1L, yet – what kinda job will I, too, one day be groveling for and feel awful that I can’t even get? I mean, I know, a law job, but… like, some kind of paralegal thing, or secretarial thing, or research assistant thing, or junior lawyer-but-we-can’t-put-your-name-on-stuff, cause-you’re-not-really-a-lawyer thing?

    I’m going to law school from the film industry, so I think I have a good handle on rejection, frustration, and failure to meet arbitrary and unknowable criteria, but still I wonder what the heck I’m getting myself into.

  3. January 15, 2006 at 9:41 am

    Well, tock, most law students work as summer associates in law firms. This means they spend their summer researching and writing memos. If you work for a judge (an unpaid externship) you will be researching and writing also, but maybe drafts of opinions instead of memos. If you work for a public interest organization, you’ll probably still do a lot of research and writing, but you might also get to interview clients or go to court and watch proceedings.

    Basically, research and writing. It’s critical. Because most lawyers are writers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
