Home > 1L > my class schedule is set! and, a request

my class schedule is set! and, a request

January 12, 2006

The bookstore snafu was no snafu at all, as it turns out. I did have to give them a copy of my drop slip, but they let me return my books with no problem at all. I am now $146 richer.

In other words, I decided to take my waitlist class and drop the other. People say, over and over, to “take the professor, not the class” and this advice is good advice. In all honesty, I was probably more interested in the subject matter of the other course–it’s stuff I might not get another chance to be exposed to while in law school–but I could tell I’d be miserable if I stayed in. The material wasn’t really presented accessibly and I was already worried about being able to absorb enough of the material to do well. I probably won’t be challenged as much in the new class, but for this semester, I don’t think that’s necessarily a bad thing.

Of course, I now have a totally free Tuesday, after my 8:45 am class, of course. I am therefore taking suggestions for what I should do with that time. Monday and Wednesdays I have a big gap, where I can do most of my reading and studying for the week, so I’m not sure I want to use Tuesday in that way also. So, give me suggestions–should I try to find an organization to volunteer with? If so, what kind of work do you think I should look for? Or should I do something just for me? If so, what?

Categories: 1L
  1. January 12, 2006 at 1:25 pm

    Well, as a former theatre person (although, are you ever really a _former_ theatre person? ๐Ÿ™‚ I am partial to Lawyers for the Creative Arts.

  2. emily
    January 13, 2006 at 1:17 pm

    drink.

    lol, j/k. have you considered trying to write on to a journal? or you could always work on writing a note to try and publish. lots of scholarships are offered for papers written on certain topics, and i don’t think many people actually go out there and apply for those things. since i know you’re interested in writing, that might be a productive way of spending your time.

    of course, if it were me, i’d go home and watch tv and eat chocolate.

  3. January 13, 2006 at 2:00 pm

    Somehow I suspect that time might fill right up, but one thing you could do for the next month or two is drop in on the George Ryan trial. People from outside the state aren’t necessarily aware of what a big deal this trial is, but the lawyers are some of the best around.

    And then we can go out for drinks after! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
