Home > 1L > getting smart about checking for grades

getting smart about checking for grades

January 11, 2006

Grades should be posted sometime today, as I understand it. I had been checking sort of obsessively, since Monday, when grades were due, until I stopped to think:

Do I really want to get my grades while I’m in class? Or near other people? Don’t I want to look at them when I am alone, and steeled for whatever might be revealed?

So I stopped obsessively checking. No more checking in class. No more checking right before class. No more checking when I’m sitting at a study table with a classmate. It’s better this way. After all, they are what they are and I can’t change them. So it’s best to absorb them when I am ready.

Update:

I’m sequestered away in the library, doing my Property reading. I’ve been intermittantly checking for grades. So far, two grades are in. One was no surprise–I had already calculated my legal writing grade. The other . . . well, given it was my last final (and I’m pretty sure I mixed up implied right of action and negligence per se on it), I’m pleased.

Update II:

All grades are in. I am not disappointed. And that’s all that I’m going to say about that.

Categories: 1L
  1. emily
    January 11, 2006 at 8:56 pm

    congrats on surviving your first semester!!!! i’m still waiting for all of my grades this semester. but our classes don’t start until the 17th. i bet they don’t come in until like 11pm on the 16th. lol.

  2. CM
    January 12, 2006 at 7:08 am

    Not disappointed sounds pretty good to me. Congratulations!

  3. stag
    January 12, 2006 at 11:27 pm

    It takes balls to check your grades in class when others can see your screen.

    Yay for being not disappointed!

  4. January 13, 2006 at 9:03 am

    Well, to be fair, I was checking in class but I also knew grades wouldn’t have been reported. They were due Monday, but we’d been told it would take a couple of days to process them. Sure enough, they came out on Wednesday. And I was hidden in the library checking them. Actually, the screen thing was one reason I was hidden in the library checking them.

  5. January 16, 2006 at 9:50 pm

    Good job!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
