Home > just me > back in the swing without a bang OR a whimper

back in the swing without a bang OR a whimper

January 9, 2006

Epiphany has come and gone (by a few days) so I took my Christmas tree down today. Then I vacuumed, spot treated a few places on our carpet (what sort of rental apartment has off-white carpet?), and hung a picture that’s been propped up against the wall for five months.

In keeping, then, with the “doing things that should have been done long ago” theme, Mr. Angst and I went out to grab a bite to eat. We’ve been here five months or so, and had only tried the restaurants south of us. We hadn’t gone north. And north lies a cute, upscale-ish, trendy-ish neighborhood. So north we went, to a pub with excellent Irish food, Stella on tap, and a regular with a beautiful golden retriever.

Mr. Angst has reading to do tonight; I’m pretty caught up on stuff (since my Comparative Law class hadn’t gotten to the reading I thought was for today, so I was actually ahead) so I’m going to kick off my shoes, read some blogs, and then (maybe) clean the kitchen. Heaven only knows when I’ll have the time to do it later.

Categories: just me
  1. January 9, 2006 at 11:55 pm

    Oh no, I still haven’t gotten rid of my Christmas tree. And I must say, it’s a sorry sight.

  2. January 10, 2006 at 1:56 pm

    Is that Stella Artois? I haven’t seen that beer at a single bar/pub in Philly!

    On a separate note, do you look at legal systems in other countries for Comparative Law? Is it mainstream legal systems or tribal systems? I’m taking Comp Law: Dispute Settlement, and we learn the more primitive forms of legal systems; like the Kalahari Bushmen’s justice systems, etc.

  3. January 10, 2006 at 2:02 pm

    We’re starting with a general look at primitive (pre-literate) society and regulatory systems, then moving up into Greek and Roman law. Our eventual goal is to look at civil law systems and then get into comparative problems involving those systems. Right now, we’re looking at a lot of economic rationale for primitive societal systems.

  4. January 10, 2006 at 2:11 pm

    Oh, and Stella is indeed Stella Artois. This city is great for good beer.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
