Home > just me > this IS the winter of my discontent

this IS the winter of my discontent

December 14, 2005

Children, this morning I found something terrifying. While gray hairs have been making appearances on my head for several years now, what I saw today chilled me to my bones.

A streak. Of gray. Just under my part. In a clump. All together, happily spawning new gray hairs.

Mr. Angst says a streak of silver is sexy. I say that might be true if you are Stacy London. But if you are an under-30 (even if just barely under 30) law student, a streak of gray hair is not a happy thing. And it’s not even really a streak. I have to be honest. It’s just a CLUMP.

Somebody find me a Christmas sweater fast. I better start dressing the part.

Categories: just me
  1. December 14, 2005 at 2:06 pm

    The times when I have gotten grey hairs have been after times of severe stress. Maybe it’s a temporary thing.

  2. December 14, 2005 at 2:16 pm

    I don’t think they’re going to go away, if that’s what you mean. I may not get more of them at such a high rate if my stress level goes down, but the fact remains: I have a clump. And that law student thing means the stress will probably not go away any time soon.

    Basically, L’Oreal is my friend.

  3. December 14, 2005 at 2:30 pm

    Of course, part of it is that I’m getting older, but I’ve gotten many more grey hairs since I started law school… 🙂

  4. December 14, 2005 at 4:10 pm

    My deepest sympathies! But, if it’s any comfort, it may be random. I got my third gray hair (that I know about) like, last month, well after anything stressful has happened to me. Like, say, law school. Or the bar. Or a hurricane. So maybe it’s just an unlucky coincidence.

  5. emily sitton
    December 14, 2005 at 10:49 pm

    you know, you would be JUST as sexy as stacy london with a gray streak in your hair, if not MORE sexy. your husband is totally right–it’s hot.

    just think: it will all be over soon!

    my exams don’t finish until the 23rd. this makes me want to die a little bit. evidence and crim pro down, med practice, advocacy, and cyberlaw yet to go. whee!

  6. December 15, 2005 at 1:52 am

    Oh my gosh… I LOVE white/gray hair! Please send me some!

  7. December 15, 2005 at 8:51 am

    Just after my 1L year I noticed I produced a crop of gray hair. Solution: Go back to blonde. Works wonders.

    I have more gray than my mother and it really doesn’t run in my family, so yeah there is something to that stress theory.

  8. December 16, 2005 at 12:35 am

    I’ll confirm that: stress = white hairs. For some of us this may be more true than for others – some people get ulcers instead maybe. I thought my streak was bad, until I started to get zillions of white hairs all over. Now I think — just a streak? Not so bad. Sigh.

    Anyway, consider it a badge of honor. And a big congrats and whoo hoo and cheers for finishing the first semester!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
