Home > 1L > learning how to study all over again

learning how to study all over again

December 4, 2005

For the last two days or so, I have been in hardcore study mode. I’ve been working hard, usually with at least one other person, going over practice exams and hypos and E&E questions for Monday’s (tomorrow’s???) Contracts exam. Toward the end of yesterday, though, we started talking about issues that we never really got to in class. I might have found it interesting to explore the nuances of the UCC two months ago. But at 5 o’clock yesterday afternoon, after hours of studying, it just frightened me. By the time I got home, I felt like someone had sucked all the smart out of me and replaced it with hay.

(The solution for the hay problem? Two beers, Buffy (the one where Tara’s family comes to take her away) and What Not to Wear (I really didn’t like the haircut).)

I really wanted to take several hours off and not work on school–and Mr. Angst wanted that, too. But the hours just didn’t add up that way. So instead of working substantively, I formatted my outline without working on content. I printed everything out. I tabbed things. I got my resources in order. And I came up to campus to do some last-minute practice exams–by myself.

You know what? Working by myself today is the best thing I could have done. Sure, it’s nice to go over exams with people, but it’s also nice sometimes just to read your own stuff, see what you missed, and move on. Talking over issue-spotters with other people might be productive for a little while, but I think I passed that point somewhere in the middle of yesterday’s five-hour marathon session.

So I’m treating myself to a little confidence right now. Maybe it’s false confidence, but it feels good.

Categories: 1L
  1. December 5, 2005 at 3:56 pm

    Good luck! You’ll rock ’em exams 🙂

  2. December 5, 2005 at 4:45 pm

    Yeah, good luck! Kick ass!

  3. December 5, 2005 at 5:01 pm

    *sending waves*

    Best of luck.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
