Home > 1L, just me > instead of studying, i'll tell you about some other stuff

instead of studying, i'll tell you about some other stuff

November 29, 2005

Is it possible that I spent, essentially, five hours straight studying today? That completely blows my “take reasonable breaks at reasonable intervals” schedule. It also explains why I feel completely lost right now. Fuzzy in the brain. Sort of giddy, in a punchy way. Not really a fun feeling, but also not entirely awful.

In more news, my bids for the enrollment lottery were submitted today. In other words, class selection is out of my hands. What did I bid on? Civ Pro II, State and Local Government, Comparative Law, Law and Literature (basically), Law and History (again, basically–the actual course title is marginally sexier) and a social policy class. Not necessarily in that order, though. There are a number of best case scenarios, as far as times go, and there are also a few worst case scenarios.

There’s one scenario that, on its face, seems awful, but on reflection seems maybe not so bad. I’d have class early Monday through Wednesday, and class in late afternoon Monday and Wednesday. In other words, Tuesdays, I’d be done by, um, 9:45 or so? The flip side is that Thursdays and Fridays, I’d be in class pretty much all day. Pretty much straight. On Thursday and Friday. And what do you think are the chances I’ll make it to Con Law on Tuesday mornings more than a few times a semester? (OK, who am I kidding? I have much too much guilt to skip classes very often.)

The ambition fairy says, “Oh, wow, you’d have several hours a day Monday through Wednesday! You could volunteer at that legal aid organization you were interested in, since you’d have so much time! You could do all your reading during the day and not have to do any work at night!”

Then the realism fairy says, “Dear God, how often would I just go home and sleep during the day? Or just take a nap in the library? Or just kill time?”

So we’ll see what the lottery brings me. I’ll put it out there right now, though–I’ve never been all that lucky. I don’t win things. So I’m not all that optimistic that my schedule is going to come out all peachy. The only bright spot in all of this is that if I do end up with the long schedule on Thursdays and Fridays, I’ll have it with three really, really marvelous professors. (Or, at least two marvelous ones and one who really knows his shit.)

So there’s the lineup for next semester. Now, back to Civ Pro outlining.

Categories: 1L, just me
  1. November 29, 2005 at 11:28 pm

    Wow, you get choices? Already? We get to pick one of five, but not until spring quarter. 😦

    On the other hand, I couldn’t be trusted to pick an ice cream flavor right now, so perhaps it’s for the best.

  2. December 1, 2005 at 2:45 pm

    Yeah, it’s a little nervewracking. But I like it. It gives us a chance to actually start feeling like we know something instead of feeling like the morons at the bottom of the law school totem pole.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
