Home > just me > just checking in

just checking in

November 26, 2005

So, y’all? I know I haven’t posted in a few days, and normally I would apologize for that, but not this time. I have spent the last three days in mindless bliss. I made myself a study schedule that would allow me to not to any substantive work over the Thanksgiving break, so I haven’t done any substantive work yet. I don’t plan to do any for what remains of this little vacation. And because I scheduled it that way, I do not feel the slightest bit guilty.

And y’all? I feel terrific. I’ve gotten lots of sleep, I’ve had time to chat with family, I’ve watched some TV, and I finished a book. It’s a book I’ve been reading slowly for a couple of months now, so I feel good about actually getting to finish it! Basically, my brain feels completely refreshed. I feel rested. I feel happy. I feel . . . energetic! Who knew I could feel this good this close to finals?

Now, tomorrow, I may do some work. I may finish consolidating my notes from a couple of classes. That’s the kind of work I like — it requires thought, but not too much, since it’s just revisiting things I’ve already learned. It’s like creating a puzzle. Interspersed with that, I think I’ll play with my nephew some. And watch some football.

But tonight, I’m going to continue the brain-rest. Mr. Angst and I, and the Angst-in-laws are babysitting tonight while my brother- and sister-in-law go out to dinner for her birthday. We’ll watch a movie or some TV, keep an ear on the baby, and just . . . relax. Y’all, this is A Good Thing.

I hope everyone else’s Thanksgiving has been so wonderful. Definitely, this year, I am thankful for this opportunity to refresh myself.

Categories: just me
