Home > just me > excuse me, can I borrow your wall to BEAT MY HEAD AGAINST?

excuse me, can I borrow your wall to BEAT MY HEAD AGAINST?

November 19, 2005

Last summer, a store I have a love-hate relationship with discontinued my favorite product. First, it was no longer available in the store; then it wasn’t available online, either.

I could have cried. (I might actually have cried.) I had more than one of that particular product, in more than one color, but they needed replacing. Indeed, since the discontinuation, all but one of my items has given up the ghost. And despite looking in many other stores since then, and trying on many other styles, I have yet to find anything that fits as well. It’s been a nightmare of ill-fitting garments.

Yesterday, I was online looking for something else entirely, and I discovered that they had started selling my favorite product again! Yay! Hooray! Huzzah! So today I showered and dressed and hauled my butt to their local retail outlet to pick myself up two or three of my favorite product — you know, before they decided to discontinue it again.

I wandered around the store for a good ten minutes, looking for the nook in which they had hidden my item when, finally, a black-clad sales associate asked if she could help me. “Yes!” I said, “I’m looking for this particular product in this particular line. Could you show me where it is?” I saw the look on her face. So I added, “Unless it’s….catalog only?”

“I’m afraid it is,” she replied. “I’m not sure why, but we just don’t have them in the store.”

“OK,” I said, “what about this other product I’m interested in? It’s sort of new, and I’d like to see it in person before I buy it?”

“Oh, I’m sorry. Those are catalog only, too. They’re my favorite, though; I stocked up last summer when we did have them in the store.”

Well, I thought, how nice for YOU.

She then offered to show me some other things, but she had already lost me. I was a woman on a mission–a mission that had been thwarted. I admit it, I am the worst sort of retail customer–interested in one thing only, unwilling to accept a substitute, and quite happy to take my money away from the store and give it to the internet.

Which is what I did as soon as I got home. But you know what I discovered? (Yeah, it gets worse.) My favorite product is backordered until December 10! With standard delivery, then (7-10 days), my favorite product should arrive here sometime after Christmas. (Because in the two weeks before Christmas, 7-10 days always becomes 12-15 days.) Even if it does arrive on time, by the 23rd of December, I still won’t get it till after Christmas, because I WON’T BE HERE.

The love-hate relationship continues. Stupid store.

Categories: just me
  1. November 19, 2005 at 7:33 pm

    I *must* know now what it is. You can email me if you don’t want to tell everyone…which I sort of have the feeling that that’s the case.

  2. November 19, 2005 at 7:43 pm

    Email sent. I don’t need *certain* searches, ya know.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
