Home > 1L > and now what?

and now what?

November 3, 2005

I feel sort of lost today. I have my reading done for the rest of the week and I feel prepared for tomorrow’s class, so I don’t have that hanging over my head. I’v updated my resume and I’m collecting thoughts on what to write in cover letters for the various kinds of jobs I may apply for. (Note: that is the extent of the job searching stuff I’m doing right now.) My outlines are rough, but not awful.

Part of me thinks I should get to polishing up those outlines. But another part of me doesn’t know how valuable a lot of fiddling and fixing will be. Maybe it would be better to flowchart, or to work on fitting my outline-from-notes into an outline-from-syllabus. Should I create flashcards/notecards? Do more briefing? I’m just not sure what I should be doing right now other than what am doing–namely, going to class, taking good notes, meeting with my study group once a week to go over classes and outlines, and looking at my supplements.

So, should I be spending what extra time I have working on tweaking my outline? Or should I work on internalizing the information in different ways? I’m nowhere near ready to start looking at practice exams. What is the most effective use of my time?

Categories: 1L
  1. stare decisis
    November 3, 2005 at 2:59 pm

    One suggestion: do practice exams. The classes I wrote the most practice exams for were the ones I did the best in on the final. Even if you don’t write out the essay, just outline it as if you were going to.

    Also, get some sleep!

  2. November 3, 2005 at 3:05 pm

    I heard some good advice that I’ll pass on. Don’t wait till you’re “ready” to do practice exams b/c you’ll never feel ready. Just do them.

    I hope to get to a few myself this weekend.

  3. November 3, 2005 at 3:49 pm

    If you’re comfortable with the information you’ve got in your outlines, you could always start memorising it. Or, like they said, practice exams… I’m afraid to start them but I figure that’s probably the best way to find out what I don’t know yet.

    Or take a nap. Those are nice too.

  4. November 3, 2005 at 3:57 pm

    I agree with stare decisis, practice exams are invaluable–ready or not. Doing them when you aren’t ready really helps you know what you need to work on to really be ready.

  5. November 3, 2005 at 7:44 pm

    One of our professors, the young one who got a job teaching here almost the minute he graduated from here, said that one of his professors told them, “You have to say it aloud 3 times to really understand the law.”

    So you could spend time talking to yourself.

  6. November 3, 2005 at 10:42 pm

    Definitely do practice exams. Looking back, in law school I wish I’d spent more time practicing taking them and less time making my outlines pretty. You won’t regret it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
