Home > 1L > lifted up, and just in time

lifted up, and just in time

October 29, 2005

Much as I bitch about the memo writing thing, every time I sit down to work on my analysis, or edit something I’ve already written, I get a little twinge of glee down inside.

I don’t go to office hours all that much. I know, I know, I should go to office hours as much as possible. But I never really know what to say in office hours. Still, I generally take advantage of conferences with my legal writing prof. Because, you know, that glee thing needs to be fed.

The other day, my legal writing prof told me she thought my writing style was very clear. My glee turned into choirs of singing angels. OK, perhaps I am overstating a bit. Let me just say this, then: not only was it such a relief to get any sort of feedback at all, but it was also an great delight to get POSITIVE feedback.

I wade through law school sometimes feeling like I am just the dumbest person ever. That’s the big reason that feedback was so nice. It’s…calming…to be told I’m still good at something I’ve always thought was a strength.

So I feel boosted. Only a few more weeks left in the semester. I needed it.

Categories: 1L
  1. October 30, 2005 at 5:50 pm

    I start my final memo soon. I am looking forward to it, and dreading it a little bit. Good luck!

  2. October 30, 2005 at 6:39 pm

    I’ve been to office hours once. I can’t do it unless I have a legitimate question. A lot of ours profs hand out practice problems, and bringing your answer to them to get feedback is a good excuse to go to their office. You just have to be totally on it and DO the practice problem before it gets discussed in class. (Or I guess you could still go after it’s discussed, but then it’s not as good of an excuse.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
