Home > just me > preferred procrastination

preferred procrastination

October 28, 2005

Imagine, if you will, that you have a ten-page memo due Tuesday. Let’s say, for the purposes of the hypothetical only, of course, that you have good Question Presented, a pretty good Conclusion, and a Statement of Facts that is complete, if perhaps TOO complete.

Now let’s say you have your Discussion section sitting there, seven or so pages long, but not really…complete. You know. Maybe you have about half of a good analysis. Maybe slightly less. Depends on how you think about completeness.

What would you be doing, then, on a Friday night?

Yeah, me too—cooking.

Tomorrow night is the official Mr. Angst’s Birthday Celebration and we’ll be having osso buco. I made it tonight, though, since it really benefits from the chance to sit overnight in the fridge. We’ll also be having homemade bread pudding, which I have to prepare tonight since the bread should sit it its custard overnight as well.

Sometimes I wonder if I’m too Holly Homemaker.

Categories: just me
  1. October 30, 2005 at 6:57 am

    Happy birthday to Mr. Angst!

    And no, you’re not too Holly Homemaker. For those going into a profession known to suck every bit of humanity out of people, I think it might be a healthy thing to regularly do something as real, tactile, and soul-satisfying as cooking. Besides, yum!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
