Home > crafty > working with my hands

working with my hands

July 13, 2009

Snapping out of a funk is sometimes as simple as doing something with your hands. Being in a funk, I decided to do something with my hands–but something that would not cause me to gain weight, as my favorite hands-on hobby, cooking, tends to do. (I figure, if you’re going to make something fancy, why worry about the calories? Bring on the butter!)

So I pulled the sewing machine back out this weekend, and set to make a garment–and this time, to follow instructions and not get frustrated like the last time I tried to make a garment. (For the record, The Ugliest Skirt Ever.)

After a trip to the remnant room at the neighborhood fabric store (and a second trip back for a lining fabric), I created this:

full length mirror

It still needs to be hemmed, though I think I’ll keep it longer than knee-length; it seems to work on this particular skirt.

As you can see below, the zipper/waistband was a total fail and I still haven’t finished the trim:

zipper fail trim detail

But I made it! And it’s pretty good for a first (genuine) effort!

I leave you with the pretty lining:

lining detail

(Oh, the skirt was modeled, in all but the mirror photo, by my duct tape dress form which Mr. Angst Very Kindly helped me create this weekend.)

Categories: crafty Tags: ,
  1. July 13, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    That is INCREDIBLE! Good for you!!!!

  2. July 17, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    This is soooo pretty! I am super impressed. I love the detail. I do agree, however, that it needs to be a bit shorter. The length makes you appear to be rather small in stature so closer to knee length would be better. Awesome work!!

  1. July 25, 2009 at 7:29 pm
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

