Home > just me, The Bar > updates

updates

October 3, 2008

I haven’t updated in a while. So here’s what’s going on.

First, I started work this week. That entailed lots of orientation sessions involving things like benefits, computer systems, and cost-effective online research, getting my office set up, and jumping into a kick-ass first assignment that I LOVE LOVE LOVE but that will probably have me in the office tomorrow.

Second, I passed the bar! Yes, this is exciting. But I got that awesome assignment basically twelve hours after finding out I passed the bar, so I just switched gears into being excited about my assignment instead of passing the bar. Also, once you pass the bar, I think it just becomes this thing you’ve done, and then don’t really want to think about anymore!

So things are good! I really like my job, and I’m really excited about that. I’ve always been a little ambivalent (and admittedly, cynical) about the big firm thing, and I am really pleased to see that I am enjoying law firm life—and that I am really enjoying the work. Of course, I’m a little astonished that I’m already anticipating going into the office on the weekend, but the situation is a bit special and I don’t think it’ll be the norm. I hope it won’t be the norm. I do kind of feel like I’m getting a crash-course in work-life balance, and I think that’s good. I want to figure out now how to prioritize and how to maximize the time I have where I am, whether that’s office time or family time. That way, in six months, when I’m even busier with multiple matters and my time is even tighter, I will know what works and what doesn’t, what creates problems and what doesn’t.

So that’s what’s going on with me. How about you?

Categories: just me, The Bar
  1. October 3, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Neato! Glad you like the job and really glad you passed El Bar.

  2. October 4, 2008 at 12:06 am

    congrats on passing the bar!!

    that’s also awesome that you’re getting an exciting project already at work…i’ve been working for a few weeks and i’m still waiting for things to pick up.

  3. Angie
    October 4, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    Congrats!!!! I’m so happy for you!

  4. October 5, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Congratulations! What a relief, eh?

  5. LL
    October 6, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Congrats!! I still have over a month to wait until my results. I hope you did something great to celebrate- and that’s great you’re already liking work so much too!

  6. Kim
    October 7, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Congratulations on passing the bar! And I’m so glad you’re enjoying your job!! It still seems like just yesterday (or last month, anyway) that we tromped through 10 feet of snow to have coffee together. Can you believe that we weren’t even law students then, and now you are a real live lawyer?! 🙂

  7. October 16, 2008 at 12:20 am

    Great news about the bar exam! You’re a bona fide legal eagle now!

    And I hope the new job continues to go well.

  8. October 27, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    Congrats on the bar!!!

    Sounds like you’re one of the vanishingly few people who like what they do for a living. Savour it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.