Home > food > weekend foodblogging

weekend foodblogging

June 3, 2006

I mentioned something about the pizza I made last weekend, so here’s a picture of it:

If you want the recipe, it’s in the Summer 2006 issue of Cook’s Illustrated. It’s YUM. Everything is homemade, including the dough–but it’s so easy, you won’t believe it.

Also, tonight, we made a little dessert, my delicious individual chocolate soufflés. Here is the recipe–and pictures, as a bonus.

5 oz. semisweet chocolate, either chips or chopped into small pieces
2 egg yolks
1 tbsp. dark rum (or vanilla, or bourbon, or whatever. I’ve been itching to try Rumpelminz.)
1/2 tbsp. unsalted butter
3 egg whites
pinch cream of tartar
pinch salt

Preheat your oven to 400°. Butter three 1-cup ramekins, and sprinkle with sugar.

In a metal bowl over a pot of hot but not simmering water, melt the chocolate, stirring until smooth.

Remove bowl from heat and whisk in egg yolks, one at a time. (You can actually just use a spatula or spoon; a whisk doesn’t really add anything but one more utensil to wash.) Then whisk (or stir) in rum and butter. (Note: the chocolate will get very clumpy and icky looking when you’ve added all this stuff. Don’t freak out about it.)

Beat egg whites stiff with cream of tartar and salt. Fold one quarter of the whites into the chocolate mix to thin, then fold in the remainder, being careful not to stir too vigorously.

Spoon into ramekins.

Bake on a sheet in the middle of the oven for 10-12 minutes until puffed. Eat and enjoy!

I’ll note that mine didn’t puff up as much as I’m used to tonight. I’m not sure why. I did a number of things differently tonight, though–first, I was short on chocolate, so I substituted a little Nutella for what I lacked. Also, I may have folded a little too vigorously, mostly because I almost over-whipped the egg whites. But the flavor did not suffer–and that’s really the key point. The puffy soufflé thing is dramatic and all, but the taste is the same, puffed or not.

Categories: food
  1. ap
    June 6, 2006 at 5:38 pm

    these look so good. i think i just gained 3 pounds by reading your post.

    yum

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

