Archive

Archive for October 4, 2005

is it really only Tuesday?

October 4, 2005 4 comments

Have you ever woken up thinking the day is going to rock only to have it come crashing down around you, piece by piece, as each hour passes?

Yeah, that was my day.

I woke up and my snotty nose wasn’t so congested anymore. Hooray! I thought, this cold thing is almost done with. By the end of my shower, though, I was drip city. I took a Claritin-D (12 hour) and headed off to school.

Contracts went fine, but I was tired and needed more caffeine for Crim, so I bought myself a tea. Then I sat down to read for Civ Pro, since last night I had the brilliant idea of reading Contracts for the rest of the week instead of Civ Pro for today. I got halfway through Burger King and realized that there was another case I needed to read for Crim, so away went Civ Pro and out came this other case. (Downloaded from Westlaw, 10 points).

Halfway through Crim, I realized the tea I bought was WAY too strong and I had the jitters. Jitters on top of pre-lunch hungriness = not a Good Thing. Also, I was blowing my nose every 10 minutes. Ew.

After Crim, I raced to the cafe to buy something to eat, then I ran down the street for a capella rehearsal. I scarfed half my salad, which had way too many onions in it, then attempted to make my voice sound like I haven’t had a cold for the last five days. Then I made a disastrous attempt to sight-read the solo line for one of our songs, proving that I cannot keep time or find a note even when it’s just one octave up from the note I’ve been singing. Bonus: my voice is LOUD so everyone could tell how bad I sounded. I hope the other soprano who wants it gets the solo; she did much better than I did.

I left rehearsal early to meet with my Legal Writing group so we could work on a research project we have due Friday. I guess we did pretty well; we found some good cases and the appropriate statute, but I’m not sure we’re following the procedure she recommended.

With a scant five minutes to spare, I ran from the library to Civ Pro and hastily read the last few pages of the case in the minutes before and at the beginning of class. Nose still dripping, I realized I had not had time to go buy more pocket Kleenexes. So I just sniffed, for an hour and twenty minutes.

And now I’m home and I am still completely drippy, so there’s no way I’m going to Aikido. But we need to pay our dues for the month, so I’m contemplating going ahead and going up to the dojo just to write a check. I do, however, have Civ Pro for tomorrow yet to read and, oh yeah, the other half of my closed memo to write before Thursday, when I have a conference with my professor.

So basically, the walls are crumbling down around me. It’s finally hit—the insane and crazy workload. God save me.

At least we’re not going out of town this weekend.

Categories: 1L

this is just going too far

October 4, 2005 2 comments

I understand the desire to give your kid a unique and meaningful name. But this is really just wrong.

Categories: off the beaten path